Seeing the world in Black and White

Speak to anyone who knows me and I am a colourful girl. Case and point, I sit here typing in tan boots, a pink and teal floral dress, taupe cardigan and ink-blue scarf! But today I was drawn to the monochrome. My home, like me is a veritable fruit punch filled with every kind of pattern and colour (everything in moderation) but today I wanted to seek out interiors that restrict themselves to the world of black and white – and those grey areas in-between.

This is where it started, I cam across an image on my internet travels and, well, I stopped. The matt black tub is lovely but the mountain mural I just adore.

Black and white mountains murial in a bathroom with a black tub

Another bathroom, this time with fun wallpaper that has ethnic 1990’s vibes. The pattern is rug-little geometric.

Bathroom with rug-like pattern wallpaper in black on white

Ok, so the green foliage kind of adds colour to my tightly constrained black and white theme. The black framed windows are oh-so-chic, paired with a stripy rug, light wooden table and the classic ‘Y’ chair.

'Y' chairs with a round table and black framed windows

Traditional with a twist, this frayed at the edges sitting room has a comforting layered style.

Layered pictures and mix and match furniture in the traditional with a twist sitting room

Back to bathrooms, here is a small space delivers understated glamour. Greyed marble perfectly sets off the graphic black fittings.

Glamourous marbled bathroom with black fittings

A geometric chimney breast steals the show here where nothing is understated. Silver surfaces and Art Deco themes combine to create a memorable space.

Silver and black contempary living room

But perhaps its best to start small, I love these stripy black and white pots, hugging those architectural spikes.

Cacti in stripy black and white pots

I have enjoyed this monochrome tour, though I can’t help wanting to add a splash of mustard or a flourish of Indian pink or maybe, just a hint, of decadent gold.

Leave a Reply

