Art Nouveau Architecture

I recently returned from a jaunt to Prague and was wooed by the beautiful architecture. A city that is full of stunning buildings in ice cream colours with ornate Art Nouveau flourishes, and so many faces! You feel like you are being watched by angels that have been captured in stone.

I have always loved the Art Nouveau style and I thought I would show you some really great examples of the buildings and details that herald this remarkable movement.

The Central Hotel, Prague.

Art Nouveau. Hotel Central. Prague

Prague really is a city that enchants, what a magical door!

Art Nouveau door

Its not just Prague that embraced Art Nouveau, the movement was prominent in Europe and the USA from about 1890 until the First World War. When I was 17 and studying Photography I went on a trip to Barcelona – what an eye opener! Architect Antoni Gaudi’s work was prominent as we strolled the streets. I think his style maybe a step too far for me aesthetically but amazing none the less! Reminiscent of Disneyland, but on a sugar rush, and maybe slightly like the movie Alien, Gaudi’s buildings swirl and twirl in candy shades taking adornment to the extreme.

Barcelona Art Nouveau building

This Catalonian building can be summed up in one word to me, ‘joy’. I love it! A contemporary of Gaudi, Jenori Granell’s work has been restored beautifully.

Jenori Granell Barcelona building

Back to doors – why are doors so boring today! I have seen some amazing doors in my travels. A visit to the old town in Kiev years ago was marked by beautiful doors in verdigris. Prague was littered with wonderful entries and even my fair England has lovely carved offerings. This elegant entrance can be found in Barcelona.

turquoise Art Nouveau door

This doorway from Prague is more like a sculpture than a facade. The ladies are thinly veiled and beautifully draped.

Prague decorative door

Art Nouveau is not just about decadent doors, just look at this window in France. Such swirls and curves, not a straight line in sight.

Art Nouveau window in France

And finally Havana’s Art Nouveau was evidently a riot of colour.

Blue and green Art Nouveau facade

There is so so much more I could show you!  I hope you have been inspired by the embellishment and beauty of these bricks and mortar examples of Art Nouveau. Thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

